Wednesday, May 9, 2012

Scholarship recipients announced

Nine area high school seniors have been selected to receive MKC’s scholarship in the amount of $500 each.

“The selection process was difficult as we received more than 90 outstanding applications,” stated Kerry Watson, MKC Communications/Administrative Specialist. “We are proud to support today’s student leaders on their path to becoming tomorrow’s business and community leaders.”

Applications were reviewed by a committee of five people including two board members. The recipients were selected based on academic achievements, honors, leadership, and school and community activities. Along with the application, students were asked to submit an essay about the value of the cooperative system.
Recipients of the 2012 scholarship are: Nicholas Vogts, Canton-Galva High School; Taylor Harms, Marion High School; Lori James, Smoky Valley High School; Emily Harris, Abilene High School; Nathan Peterson, Southeast of Saline Senior High School; Lauren Barlow and Lance Schroder, Inman High School; Grace Heidebrecht and Kassidy Glazner, McPherson High School. MKC began offering the scholarships in 2008 and has awarded a total of $22,500 to date.

No comments:

Post a Comment